Gnaoua-Music

Like the Aissaoua, Gilala and Hamacha, the Gnaoua belong to the so-called popular or heterodox Sufi brotherhoods in Morocco. The original Gnaoua are descendants of the soldiers and slaves from West Africa who came to Morocco from the Songhay empire of what was then West Sudan under the Moroccan sultan Mulay Ismail in the early 18th century, and with whom the sultan built a black army. In the course of time they mixed with the Arab - Berber population and settled among others in Libya, Tunisia and Algeria. It is believed that the terms "Gnaoui" (singular) and "Gnaoua" (plural) derive from the original word for "Guinea", which means their origin.

Today's Gnaoua groups in Morocco are made up of all strata of the population and established ethnic groups and there are still black Maalems who can prove their origin from West Africa exactly.

 

All of the above-mentioned popular Sufi brotherhoods in Morocco cultivate a trance cult, at whose ceremonies the participants want to achieve an immediate approach to the divine in ecstasy. The practices of the Gnaoua are probably the most influenced - like the Condomble cult in Brazil and the trance cult of the Santeria in Cuba - from sub-Saharan Africa.

 

The Gnaoua in Morocco perform as a show troupe (drummers, dancers, acrobats) on the Djemma al Fna in Marrakech, play concerts with their songs at the Gnaoua Festival in Essaouira, and do healing ceremonies.

These healing ceremonies are organized for individual sick people for whom it seems appropriate; In addition, there are certain days or nights for sympathizers and participants in places known to participants where everyone can spontaneously participate.

 

Such events take place from early evening until dawn and are called "Lila" (from the high Arabic: leila = night) at the Gnaoua.

 

This is preceded by the slaughter of a sacrificial animal - goat, sheep, bull or camel, and while the women of the Gnaoua prepare the feast for all actors and the Gnaoua families, the troupe of musicians moves through the location and announces the beginning of the purple.

 

The Maalems (from high Arabic: Muallim, meaning master, that's the name of the head of the music group) play the "Tbel", a large cylinder drum that is struck with two different sticks, the other musicians play the "Qraqeb", metal castanets, whose sound reminiscent of the rattling of the slave chains. The central part of her music is the vocals with typical West African call and response. The Maalem is the lead singer and the choir answers.

 

After the meal, the trance night takes place in two stages:

 

In the first stage, traditional songs are played and the origin of the Gnaoua is told. The music group has now taken its seating position in a central place. The Maalem sings and accompanies himself on the "Gembri", a three-string bass lute, the African Urbass, which is played in a similar way to a modern electric bass, and for which the Maalem receives its reputation. The chorus of Qraqeb players answers, some of them stand up one after the other and dance the history of origin with acrobatic performance.

 

Then there is a pause, the audience is in tune and relaxed.

 

In the second stage, there is a ghosting or a release from harmful influences, so-called obsessions. In addition, there is a ceremonial director, a so-called moquadem, who leads the ceremony through the individual phases of the night. There are songs for a total of 22 groups of spirits (Mluks) to be summoned. Not all songs are always played, but a choice is made depending on who or what is to be healed, since each mind must cause something or be appeased by something special. Each group of ghosts has a specific color, if possible the "Seven Colors of the Night" are played. The Moquadem covers the participants who are now appearing as trance dancers with colored cloths in the color of the spirit that is being played on, smoking with tree resin, taking care of the dancers or looking after those who have fallen into a trance. The musicians and the Moqadem also stage the ghosts at the beginning of the song groups. After the song verses, the Maalem improvises on the Gembri, the Qraqeb players strike a West African twelve-eighth beat, the tempo is increased to frenzy, the Maalem leads the dancers into a trance and to a fall. Afterwards there is a short relaxation before the song is tuned for the next Mluk.

After the last summoning at dawn, a dance song is often played, a belly dance for everyone, you sit together a little with tea and pastries before the magical gathering breaks apart again.

Thomas Gundermann, May 2020

© 2020 Karawanserail Khamlia

imprint

Gnaoua-Musik

Die Gnaoua gehören wie auch die Aissaoua, Gilala und Hamacha, zu den sogenannten volkstümlichen oder heterodoxen Sufi – Bruderschaften in Marokko. Die ursprünglichen Gnaoua sind Nachfahren der aus Westafrika stammenden Soldaten und Sklaven, die Anfang des 18. Jh. unter dem marokkanischen Sultan Mulay Ismail aus dem Songhay- Reich des damaligen Westsudanlandes nach Marokko kamen, und mit denen der Sultan eine schwarze Armee aufbaute. Im Laufe der Zeit mischten sie sich mit der arabisch – berberischen Bevölkerung und siedelten sich unter anderem auch in Lybien, Tunesien und Algerien an. Man nimmt an, dass die Bezeichnungen "Gnaoui" (Singular) und "Gnaoua" (Plural) von dem ursprünglichen Wort für "Guinea" herstammen und damit ihre Herkunft bezeichnet wird.
 

Die heutigen Gnaouagruppen in Marokko sind aus allen Bevölkerungs-schichten und etablierten Ethnien zusammengesetzt und immer noch gibt es schwarze Maalems, die ihre Herkunft aus Westafrika genau belegen können.
 

Alle obengenannten volkstümlichen Sufi-Bruderschaften in Marokko pflegen einen Trancekult, bei deren Zeremonien die Teilnehmer in der Ekstase eine unmittelbare Annäherung an das Göttliche erreichen wollen. Dabei sind die Praktiken der Gnaoua wohl am meisten - wie übrigens auch der Condomble Kult in Brasilien und der Trancekult der Santeria in Cuba - aus Schwarzafrika beeinflusst.
 

Die Gnaoua in Marokko treten als Showtruppe (Trommler, Tänzer, Akrobaten) auf dem Djemma al Fna in Marrakesch auf, spielen mit ihren Liedern Konzerte beim Gnaoua Festival in Essaouira, und machen Heilzeremonien.

Diese Heilzeremonien werden für einzelne kranke Personen veranstaltet für die das angebracht erscheint; daneben gibt es für Sympathisanten und Teilnehmer bestimmte Tage bzw. Nächte an wiederum für Teilnehmer bekannten Orten wo jeder spontan teilnehmen kann.

Solche Veranstaltungen finden vom frühen Abend bis zum Morgengrauen statt und werden bei den Gnaoua "Lila" (von hocharabisch: leila = Nacht) genannt.
 

Voraus geht die Schlachtung eines Opfertieres - Ziege, Schaf, Stier oder Kamel, und während die Frauen der Gnaoua das Festmahl für alle Akteure und die Gnaoua Familien bereiten, zieht die Truppe der Musiker durch die Örtlich-keit und verkündet den Beginn der Lila.
 

Die Maalems  (von hocharabisch: Muallim, d. h. Meister, so werden die Leiter der Musikgruppe genannt) spielen die "Tbel", eine große Zylindertrommel, die mit zwei unterschiedlichen Stöcken angeschlagen wird, die anderen Musiker spielen die "Qraqeb", Metallkastagnetten, deren Sound an das Rasseln der Sklavenketten erinnert. Der zentrale Teil ihrer Musik ist der Gesang mit typisch westafrikanischem Call und Response. Der Maalem ist der Vorsänger und der Chor antwortet.
 

Nach dem Essen findet die Trancenacht in zwei Etappen statt:

In der ersten Etappe werden traditionelle Lieder gespielt und die Herkunft der Gnaoua erzählt. Die Musikgruppe hat jetzt an einem zentralen Platz ihre Sitzposition eingenommen. Der Maalem singt vor und begleitet sich auf dem "Gembri", einer dreisaitigen Basslaute, dem afrikanischen Urbass, der ähnlich wie ein moderner E–Bass gespielt wird, und für dessen Spielweise der Maalem seinen Ruf erhält. Der Chor der Qraqebspieler antwortet, einzelne von ihnen stehen nacheinander auf und tanzen mit akrobatischen Einlagen die Herkunftsgeschichte.
 

Dann gibt es eine Pause, das Publikum ist eingestimmt und entspannt sich.

In der zweiten Etappe findet eine Geisterbeschwörung bzw. eine Befreiung von schädigenden Einflüssen, sogenannten Besessenheiten statt. Dazu tritt ein Zeremonienleiter, ein sogenannter Moquadem hinzu, der die Zeremonie durch die einzelnen Phasen der Nacht führt. Es gibt Lieder für insgesamt 22 Gruppen von Geistern (Mluks), die beschworen werden. Es werden nicht immer alle Lieder gespielt, aber eine Auswahl wird getroffen, je nachdem wer oder was geheilt werden soll, da jeder Geist etwas Bestimmtes verursacht oder durch etwas Spezielles besänftigt werden muss. Jede Gruppe von Geistern hat eine bestimmte Farbe, wenn möglich, werden die "Sieben Farben der Nacht" gespielt. Der Moquadem bedeckt die jetzt als Trancetänzer auftretenden Teilnehmer mit farbigen Tüchern in der Farbe des Geistes, der gerade bespielt wird, räuchert mit Baumharz, kümmert sich um die Tänzer oder versorgt die in Trance Gestürzten. Von Seiten der Musiker und des Moqadems finden auch szenische Darstellungen der Geister zu Anfang der Liedgruppen statt. Nach den Liedstrophen improvisiert der Maalem auf dem Gembri, die Qraqebspieler schlagen einen westafrikanischen zwölfachtel Beat, das Tempo wird bis zur Raserei gesteigert, der Maalem führt die Tänzer in die Trance und bis zum Sturz. Danach findet eine kurze Entspannung statt, bevor das Lied für den nächsten Mluk angestimmt wird.
 

Nach der letzten Beschwörung im frühen Morgengrauen wird oft noch ein Tanzlied, ein Bauchtanz für alle gespielt, man sitzt bei Tee und Gebäck noch ein wenig zusammen, bevor die magische Versammlung wieder auseinander geht.

 

 

Thomas Gundermann, Mai 2020

© 2020 Karawanserei | Karawanserail Khamlia